Look up

Work today was a smorgasbord of shite sugary delights, as Eco Dad might not say. One of these days I shall actually be heard to say "I don't believe it!" out loud instead of just thinking it. I suppose that then I can at least start wearing purple and wearing my trousers rolled.

They seem to have put Princes Street back together since Saturday but have now totally dug up and closed off Queensferry Street. One tramworks, the other gas mains...who cares, the bus gridlock is indistinguishable. When I was waiting at a bus stop between two different but equally snail-like buses, I noticed the reflections on the quotations in the window opposite Jenners and tried to capture them, with limited success. The main quote reads in full

"This is a city of shifting light, of changing skies, of sudden vistas.
A city so beautiful, it breaks the heart again and again."
(Alexander McCall Smith).
Well, he's right, so it is. Just remember to keep your gaze turned upwards above the level of the roadworks.

Edit: I only just noticed the one-year-ago thumbnail; that was in a different league of transport hell. Today wasn't a good day for the trains either; apart from a grieving family there'll be one badly traumatised train driver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.