Meles

By meles

Eye watering

This was the view out of my train back to Edinburgh when it stopped in the Borders. I think we were about level with St Abbs Head, so this might be Horseley Hill - but the little river that was gradually flooding the surrounding fields is almost certainly the Eye Water. Yes.

We were told that there was a landslide ahead and they were trying to clear it or assess it to see if it was passable. Then we were told the train would be backing down to Berwick. Then that there were two landslides. Then that we were definitely going to proceed to Edinburgh. Then, when the train moved after being stationary for about three-and-a-half hours, it moved slowly backwards, to Berwick. Yes.

There were two trains sitting in the station already. Two coaches appeared and filled up with people but there wasn't enough room for everyone (by then I just couldn't be bothered to use my elbows) and no-one seemed to think that any more coaches would be turning up. So just before 10 pm I stomped off into the blizzard in an attempt to locate the Kings Arms, as suggested by Berwick's finest who were in attendance 'to keep the peace'! I was thinking to myself that if I couldn't find a room I might have to breach the peace in the hope of a nice warm cell. Yes.

Anyway, the Kings Arms had a room available and I managed to get a bowl of hot soup and a wee dram before retiring for the night. Yes yes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.