Moments

By togrrrl

The Day of the Grackle

Spring in my city needs a little helping along. There is still snow on the ground and it's March 30th.

I woke up to the songs of new birds who had landed in my yard after a long night's migration. The best was a young Song Sparrow who was trying to sing a respectable song but all he could muster was a few offtune phrases.

Small flocks of grackles flew from tree to tree as I walked to the streetcar. Hence the title - Day of the Grackle. Get it? Ha Ha. Well maybe not.

Work was incredibly frustrating. I wasted a morning helping some people along, rehashing ground we had traveled several times before. I perhaps wasn't as gracious about it as I could have been if I was a better, more patient person. I don't think my smile came across as friendly, more like "I'm trying to be polite but don't you get it yet and why are you wasting my time trying to figure it out?" Ah well, tomorrow is the last day of this particular meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.