Skyroad

By Skyroad

Ikea Land

Sunny afternoon, though spiked by a cool gusty wind. My wife took part of her day off and, after a nice breakfast near her office, we drove out to Ikea (near Dublin airport) to get some stuff for the wean's bedroom. Apparently Ikea stores are often located near airports, since this is where suitable tracts of land can usually be found. Though we saw housing estates nearby, I thought the place looked rather desolate, part wasteland (or land-in-waiting for further development), an area friendlier to cars and passing trade than a settled existence. But people live here, and for all I know are at least as happy as people in my part of Dublin (occluded by trees, secured behind their electronic gates).

I caught sight of the above poster as we made our final approach. It was my friend SLANT who did a whole project on political posters, and eventually had a show in Dublin's Gallery of Photography which was well reviewed. Although I will always think this as his territory, occasionally I find one I can't resist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.