The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sea dogs

Sandside, Cumbria

I watched this sea angler repeatedly casting his line into the water from the edge of the mudflats. The old dog would run after the line each time he cast, slithering about in the slippery mud. I've never seen anyone fishing from the mudflats before, usually the anglers fish at high tide from the Sandside promenade.

This is taken into the sun and is naturally drained of colour.

At work, today was the last day of the old order, tomorrow the beginning of the new. Chaos beckons. We are losing 20% of our workforce, while the work remains the same. Our office from tomorrow is technically termed unsupported, there is no-one left to provide a reception service, administrative support, franking of mail, forwarding correspondence to home workers, or the myriad other daily tasks that have lately been performed by one person (and before that by several). "New ways of working" we are told, but is it efficient to have technical experts scratching their heads trying to work out how to frank an envelope or wondering how to get the ailing photocopier fixed?

I'll stop now before this turns into a rant. It was a lovely, blowy evening after at first a rainy, then a cloudy day. The sun and patches of blue sky made a showing as the sun was going down.

I took Bob for his annual boosters and check-up this evening. His heart murmur has not got any worse in the last year, and he is in otherwise good health for a 12 year old big (= overweight) moggy. Last night he was missing again, and I got up at 5 am to try and find him. It occurred to me I hadn't seen him since Wifie came home at 8 pm, and I then knew where he would be. In the car. He loves curling up on the parcel shelf, and he waits till the door is open when under cover of darkness, he sneaks unseen into the footwell. This time though Wifie had seen him get in, but was unable to persuade him out, then later forgot he was there till I mentioned it later in the day.

There is somebody who teases me for saying view large (well, actually for blipping at all). But I'll say it anyway: VIEW LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.