They're back

A rainy afternoon coupled with warm weather has woken up the snails. When I went out to feed the guinea pigs their vegetables this evening, I had to tiptoe not to crush the various sizes of snails around the garden. There were four on the back door - here's one of them. I wonder what colour of varnish to decorate them with this year?

I had a productive day of work, work, work, then headed down the street to buy my messages. I've discovered that the new local bakery makes amazing hot cross buns. The lady behind the counter is a real giggle, too. I then had a good chat with Brenda the pet-shop lady. I always leave the shop smiling.

Ooh, I forgot to say that I did venture out before that. I headed out to the front garden to gather dandelion leaves for Omar and the guinea-pig trio. Dandelions grow very well there and of course they aren't weeds as far as I'm concerned. As I was gathering the leaves, I had a fleeting thought that I should put the door on the latch as I was without keys and the neighbour upstairs was away. Sure enough, "Slam!" Locked out. Hmm. However, I'd left the back door open so all I had to do was find a way into the back garden. I tried climbing the fence, which was laughable - I'm far too wee in the leg for that kind of caper. So I ripped three planks off the fence and squeezed in. I've made a note as how easy it is to do that and how no one could spot me from the houses on the street. They may have seen me from the pavement, but they'd have to be staring down the alleyway. Still, a burglar's easy way in is also my saviour when I'm stupid enough not to put the door on the latch!

It was also quite humiliating to have Whisky watch me trying to climb the fence. He tackles it with ease every day, several times a day. I was a cat's laughing stock. Embarrassing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.