Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

RAW

Yesterday's visit from the sun turned out to a farewell one. It was interesting to watch today's forecast change, beginning as Sunny, then changing to Sunny Intervals and finally catching up with the reality outside and settling for Cloudy. And that's what it was: we were stuck under a dull grey blanket of cloud all day long. I thought at first it was just over night mist, and little patches of light blue sky made a couple of guest appearances in the early morning. But that's as close as we got to seeing the sun today.

It was probably just as well. If the weather had been better I would most probably have been tempted outside for a bit of a blip session. I downloaded the trial version of Aperture 2 the other day, and I was anxious to test it out with some RAW originals. Bright sunny conditions would have been ideal for a bit of a field test, but alas it was not to be. I set the G9 to RAW anyway and took a few quick indoor shots by the last of the available light of the day. Carl found this in his log pile, kept it rather than using it in the stove, and gave it to me as possible future blip fodder. Thanks, Carl, it made a very willing model.

As it turned out, I made only very small adjustments to the original in Aperture. Hopefully there'll be better days to come during the rest of the 30-day trial period so I can do some more tests with some more challenging images. I'm looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.