Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Feeling off-colour

Yuck! I woke during the night with severe stomach cramps and felt no better when I woke this morning, with fever and weak legs added to the mix of symptoms. The local chemist confirmed my own diagnosis and told me I had a touch of food poisoning. She told me the only sure cure was time and the body's own recovery process, but gave me something to ease the stomach pains and told me to rest and take lots of liquids.

I spent most of the day either in bed or in the bathroom (I'll spare the details) or downloading and listening to music (a string quintet by Stanford is playing as I type this -- a real discovery). Suddenly I realised I hadn't fitted in a blip, so yet another ornament was press-ganged into serving as a tabletop model. This is a miniature (about 5 cm high) hand bell whose history I am unsure of but think may have been part of the effects of an aunt who lived in the UK (near Croydon).

Time now for more rest and recovery. Hopefully I'll be back in full fighting form by tomorrow lunchtime -- though I won't be having any sandwiches made from left-over cooked ham like I did last night).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.