Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Neck Of Lamb?

Whether it was a sheep or a deer, I don't know, but I expect it gave something a good meal and an emergency blip for me.

Well, yes, I did just happen to have a spare vertebra in the cupboard! And yes, I do just happen to have books detailing every bone in the human body. So I decided to combine the two items.

It may be the first time I've blipped a bone, but certainly not the first time I've produced images of them. My images had to be perfect every time in those days, no leeway for incorrect exposure when subjecting a patient to radiation. Imobilization aids were used to prevent motion blur and the angle of shooting had to be precise and the views taken were laid down in text books like this one. Kitty Clark's "Positioning in Radiography" Volume 1.

Kilovolts and milliamps were my units of calculation, rather than ISO and f numbers but the biggest difference between Radiography and Photography was that I couldn't actually see the item I hoped to create an image of!

In a week of discussing necks, and problems with them this seemed appropriate.

BTW the cervial (neck) vertebra is recognisable by the two small holes that carry the vertabral artery either side of the hole that carries the spinal cord.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.