Journey Through Time

By Sue

English Fool

I was probably a fool for trying to make this traditional English dessert for the photo challenge this week. I had a bit of a glitch when I tried to mix up the mixed berries I decided to use. Technical difficulties with food processor...darn fool thing. Anyway, I had to go forward as best as I could and so this is some mixed berry juice and whipped cream swirled around and put into my mother's crystal wine glass which is a common pattern called Candlewick. It was hugely popular in the 1940's.

The recipe I found on-line at joyofbaking.com and Fool is from the French word "fouler" which means "to mash" or "to press.". It says "a Fruit Fool is a delicious mixture of lightly sweetened fruit that has been pureed and then haphazardly folding into whipped cream" Well, you can't get much more haphazard than this!

Anyone from the UK who sees this....my apologies for messing with and messing up your dessert!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.