Cienfuegos/100 Fires

By cienfuegos

el tecolote

I walk past this poor stuffed fellow everyday on my way to work but I finally stopped tonight to take a closer look. I'm not quite sure why there are an assortment of stuffed animals (also a black bear, coyote, wood chuck) in the window of a fancy carpet store, maybe it's to highlight for some reason the wildlife of Maine.
Either way, this particular owl has haunted me for a few weeks, so I wanted to capture it in someway. I recently saw a live owl in broad day light while driving through rural Maine. Owls are a very powerful creature and have mixed connotations depending on differnent cultures. Most Native Americans, especially Dine (Navajo) are very warry of owls, they see them as a sign of impending death, but Egyptians saw them as a sign of wisdom. Other Native cultures think owls carry the spirit of your ancestors.
Happy Valentines Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.