Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

young whippersnapper painting the town green.

I've had a cold/fever the last few days so I've not bee very productive. Yesterday I basically sat in my room shivering all day even though my skin was hotter than the sun. This morning, too, I was meant to get up and go to Ile de Ré to interview some oyster farmers for my project but I still felt like crap so I went back to sleep until the early afternoon. Which, in hindsight, was a good idea because I don't have a fever anymore! Although on the other hand it means I'm lacking in some pretty important material for my dissertation.

To get out of my rut I went into town in search of caffeine, food, interviews and photographs. I grabbed a coffee on the way (don't you hate that term 'grab a coffee'), and saw my first photo opportunity. This cheeky lad adding some fresh paint to a derelict building near the town centre. He looked like a mini pro with his glove and his Eastpack bag crammed with fresh and old cans. After getting a few shots I headed to a renowned seafood restaurant in search of an interview about oysters. No sooner had I walk in the door, though, I was back out on the street, interviewless.

The maitre d' told me firmly and border-line rudely that he had no time for an interview. Even though the restaurant was empty and all I asked for was 5 minutes at most. I should have said I was from Lonely Planet or something and that I would be filing a bad review on the service section of their restaurant. He wouldn't have believed me for a second. A baggy eyed, sniffly, hoody wearing, skinny jeaned, messy haired 20 year old writing about restaurants for the Lonely Planet. Well actually, on second thoughts...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.