an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Unilluminating

Took the little ones out this morning to give Wife a mothers Day break. We went down the beach for a scoot and to build sand castles, via the coffee van.

As usual the scooting lasted less than moments so we headed for the beach. Toddler was running on foot and Baby was asleep in the back of the buggy. Suddenly toddler took a tumble on the concrete and started screaming. I went to get her and as I did the buggy, missing toddlers weight in the front and loaded with a scooter on the back, flipped backwards on to the ground.

I dived back to the buggy and pulled it up and saw that Baby was thankfully not wearing the scooter. I then reached out and got crying Toddler cuddled her and got her to calm down a bit whilst we checked that Baby was not unconcious but actually still asleep.

I asked Toddler where she hurt and she said her hands, I checked them and they were fine, she then said her head and pulled back her hair to show a big grazed bump. I felt dreadful and gave her a big hug whilst she had a big cry that then woke Baby.

I then noticed my coffee on the floor where I had dropped it and also noticed all the people walking past us most of whom had seen it all happen and had a good look yet none offered any help at seeing a sprawled Toddler or a squashed buggy baby. So I booted what remained of my coffee on to the beach, then got Toddler to sit on the front of the buggy whilst I picked up the empty cup and binned it. Getting upset is one thing but littering is just not on!

I then scooped up Toddler and pushed the buggy down the beach where we made sandcastles and pulled faces at fishermen until the tide started to come in.

An eventful morning where I managed to capture none of it on film and so I blip something dull from a brief strole out this afternoon instead.

I am upset that toddler had a fall on my watch I am usually so paranoid and overcareful as well. On Mothers Day too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.