If this is paradise, I wish I had a lawnmower...

I don't live in Alloa any more which is why this scene still strikes me as rather weird. Where this little clump of trees sits, until fairly recently, stood the main body of the pretty expansive secondary school I attended when I was younger. It was a kind of "Now you see it, now you don't" sort of moment. One time I drove past here and it was all as I remember, the next time (admittedly sometime later) it was gone.

What adds a bit more to the mortality of this situation, for me anyway, is that although the school has been around probably longer than me, I was among the first group of students to inhabit it's extension that was built around 1988-89. These stairs were part of that extension and led up to the main entrance and are the only evidence that the school was ever there.

The wee Alloa mission also sprouted a few other encounters. I spied a blipper blipping in passing and as I was taking this photo, Shine's folks drove past, so we popped up for a wee chat. Shine's dad is going to send me photos of the school coming down.

----------------------------------------------------------

Bonus Point Section...
See the title? Situations like this always remind me of that particular song. It's the reverse sentiment but still puts the tune in my head all day. Anyone care to tell me who wrote the song?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.