Journey Through Time

By Sue

Head Vases

A desperation blip, I think, but oh well. This is our modest collection of head vases. The big one and the one on the right belonged to my mother-in-law. My father-in-law was a florist, and at one time these vases were popular. The reason why she got this one was that it came into the store not up to parr, as her earrings didn't match. So Steve brought it home. The vase had a big bouquet of plastic flowers for her "hat". I took those out when it came into my possession. The small one on the right was her's too, and that one is probably from the 1940's. The one on the left was given to me by a lady that I helped out for awhile. My regret is that I didn't keep the big (11" tall) head vase that my in-laws gave me once. She had dark hair, which is about all I remember. One for me and one for my sister-in-law. We both thought they were kind of horrendous. We both got rid of our vases at some point. Well, THAT was a dumb thing to do. Turns out head vases are very collectible and they even have head vase clubs and societies and a lot of people love collecting them. If I would ever just buy the replacement earring, this big vase is worth a bit of money. I mean like several hundred dollars. Or maybe more than several. Good grief. Who knew? I sure didn't. Wish I'd kept that other one she gave me. Sorry, Ethel. My bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.