at least their labels were tucked in

Despite the need to complete yesterday afternoon's "oh yeah, and we need it for Monday or the world will explode" last-minute pandering-to-disorganised-fools job occupying most of the day it was an extremely pleasant day. I chanced upon an old blip which reminded me of a book I forgot I had wanted which I found in paperback on the third try at lunchtime. The light was fantastically summerish and ideal for people taking part in suitably summerish activities: the urban fisherman was back in Charlotte Square, this time with a trainee and people were walking around without coats treating pedestrian crossings like their own personal catwalk. Despite the sun some people were all wrapped up for the cold unless it was guilt which made this man shiver as he phoned his wife to say he would be staying late at the office. Although it was starting to get a bit dark when I left work it was still only ISO 250 and bright enough to not feel like the evening, warm enough for people to be hanging around by the benches in the meadows watching and being watched by people standing oddly still in the distance and of course sitting on railings being watched by the world going by. When I got home just the sight of my keys in the door illuminated by natural rather than artificial light again defied the time of year.

I still popped out again a bit later on though. I was partly seeing if I could find something to blip featuring a nearly featureless white background just to see if I could get an entire row of the Just Me page to be untraditionally illuminated. Didn't see anything though there were still plenty of interesting shop windows around.

***

Saturday morning: If you don't usually get the Guardian on a Saturday you could do much worse than picking one up for a read of Charlie Brooker's regular misanthropic rant; it's a particularly good one today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.