Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Aloha Hibiscus

This chance sighting of a squirrel eating a hibiscus blossom was not the blip plan for today. Have been wanting to begin a series about 'old Florida' architecture, but the palm tree is right outside my porch and gas for the car is expensive....... old buildings will have to wait until another day

Mrs S. has a nest in the crown of the palm and I've watched her ferry nesting materials up the trunk for several days. Near the base of the tree is a lovely hibiscus shrub with lots of juicy red blooms on it. This morning was a first to see her carry a flower up the trunk and then sit and munch it down.

I Googled squirrels and hibiscus and apparently it's a love affair (for the squirrels, anyway.)

You know by now that I'm pretty much nature oriented so was surprised to discover lots of hits about how to prevent hibiscus-cide. The methods include deer repellent, netting, wire mesh cages, trapping the squirrels, and worse. A lot of effort expended to thwart what comes naturally.

This has led me to thinking about vegetable gardens I've planted and the little rhyme that goes with sowing bean seeds -

One for the rabbit,
One for the crow,
One for the worms,
And one to grow.

As much as I love pretty flowers of all kinds, I'm happy to share a few with an enterprising squirrel.........

The fountain spray you've seen in other blips is in the lower left corner.....

Thanks for your kind comments about my pancake eaters!! They are two very bright lights in my life and the moments we spend together are wonderfully precious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.