Chocolate cake

My oldest (5 years) has never had an interest in reading. We figured that he just wasn't ready yet. But in the fall, we finally realized he needed glasses. So I've decided that he's lost the confidence in reading because of the inability to see clearly. Every time I try to have him read to me, it ends in an argument...folded arms and a bunch of eye rolling. It seems that every book is just too advanced even when it "says" it's for pre-K.

The plan: I had offered him a little bribe a month or two ago. I told him that when he read a book for the first time from beginning to end all by himself, I would make him a chocolate cake. It's good incentive for him.

We received our book order today, and in it was a little blue box of "Bob" books. These are the most simple books in the world and exactly what he needed. I only hoped he could at least get through one. Not only did he read one, but he then moved on to books two, three, four and I just had to make him put five away in order to take a bath. He thought he'd just bring it to the bathroom for a bit of light reading, as you can see in the photo.

Since finishing his first book and declaring I'm to make him chocolate cake, he's been buzzing around the house with huge amounts of pride. Well done my little man. I'm so proud of you. :)

P.S. My year ago photo still makes me giggle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.