michigan man

By outdoorguy

Last Call

A rainy, overcast day in Florida. My wife and I went to do some shopping. First to Sam's Club for some Sonny's BBQ sauce to take home. Sweet and yummy ( I don't like that word). Then to Bealls Outlet one last time, (clothes for our new grandson).
While she shopped at Bealls, I went to see the babies, probably for the last time. We're heading home for Michigan on Thursday.
I first saw them when they were 2 weeks old, and have visited them 4 times in the last 10 days. Today, their little legs looked longer, and a few spots on their bodies had a few darker spots. I caught them a few times jumping up and down, and just acting like kids. They were still very dependent on mom and dad for handouts, but were also trying to dig some themselves.
It's fun to watch the animal kingdom, and see the interaction between parents and babies. Watching down here....the eagles stay off the nest for hours, leaving the toddlers in the nest. Mom or dad osprey leave for long periods, leaving the other spouse in the nest. Blue herons go back and forth for food and nesting materials, again sometimes for long periods.
But, geese and sandhill crane parents stay grounded until their babies get much older. I don't think they fly at all until the babies are ready to leave the pond.
The little ones have been fun to watch. I wish I could see them get even bigger, get some new colors(though the gold is beautiful), learn how to feed themselves, and eventually leave the nest.
Starting to sound a little too human.....bye-bye to little Sarah and Stretch. hope to see a new brood next year. Maybe Connie and Chris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.