A Blip on the Reidar

By reidar

Last orders... Abandoned (Part 11)

The Millers, Blacklaw Road, Dunfermline.

I never drank in this pub in my life. Its about ten minutes from my house and I've passed by it at least a couple of times each week. I could probably label it as a hard man's drinking den, it gave the impression it was even with the 'Family' friendly signs on the exterior. When the smoking ban came into place in Scotland you would pass by the pub and feel the unwelcome stares of the smokers huddled outside. I'm sure to regulars of the bar it was a great 'boozer' but I'll never know.

I have been in this pub though. When I was a very young lad both my Mother and Father used to work as bar staff in a number of different pubs around Fife to supplement my fathers wages as a lorry driver. My Mother worked in this pub for a short time during the day. I don't know if it was called The Millers back then but I doubt it. I must have been pretty young but old enough to remember that I had been in this place a few times to form a memory of it.

My Mum is behind the bar cleaning up and I'm sat on the bar top eating a packet of crisps, the kind with the little blue packet of salt. I reckon I must be about three. There are two other people in the bar, old drinkers who are smiling and cracking jokes at me. Its dark inside but there is a TV on somewhere. That's it, that's my memory.

I didn't notice exactly when this pub ceased trading the first I noticed was the tiles missing of the roof, and then slowly over six months or so the general decay set in. I'm positive it will be knocked down soon and hopefully I'll photograph it again as my 'Demolition' set.

I took a few pictures this morning of the building and some time soon I'll put them on my Flickr account. Check back if your interested and I'll put on a link.

Good bye memory...
Part 10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.