Botanics 3.

Started out thinking that I might take a more contemporary approach to the subject today.

However, also wanted to try out a couple of yesterday's suggestions. Andmoff and Chippy gave me ideas for getting the texture and the lighting (which I was too lazy to set up without a bit of a prompt).

So the vintage look kind of evolved into the contemporary interpretation and vice versa. (In truth, I wanted to try the shot with the dismembered tulip petals, but, here in the frozen north we're still stuck in daffodil land!). I've taken it at a bit of an angle this time too. I think I might try full head on shots arranged on the scanner.

Set up;

The daffodil head was mounted in a little petite four cutter. (For the guys, this is a bit like a scone cutter but much much smaller and very inobtrusive. Raid the kitchen cupboards but remember to put everything back where you got it. I'm not taking the blame if the Mrs can't find something!).

Texture was provided by a bit of metallic printer paper lit from the side and masked through to bring the image back a bit.

Problems;

I need to get to grips with lighting. I haven't a clue what I'm doing and it's all a bit haphazard.

Otherwise;

Heard some plonker on the radio this morning suggesting that the recent spike in the prescribing of antidepressants was caused by people asking for their happy pills when they really didn't need them. He even went so far as to challenge the WHO's estimates of depression and it's impact on the global burden of disease over the next few years. Thankfully Ian Reid and Marjorie Wallace took a much more sensible approach to the issue. Why is it you never hear anyone telling diabetics to cut back on their insulin? Jeez!

While I was looking around for something to do to day, I came across this. Now who would have thought that pteridomania was all about plants and not whopping great prehistoric flying things!

PS I know you knew what petite four cutters were, but I couldn't resist the joke!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.