Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

MINI MEMORY

Parked up next to this fine specimen today & it got me thinking back thirty five years to the day I passed my driving test, proud as punch I was that night, couldn't celebrate as I was on guard duty ( old soldier you see). Anyway, during the evening the duty Sargent decided he wanted some polo mints, the NAAFI had shut for the night so I, freshly licensed and brimming with confidence said I'd drive up to the British legion to buy some at the bar. Previous to this day I had learnt my motoring skills in a land rover, took my test in a land rover, knew where everything was in a land rover, had bloody big boots that fitted a land rover. There was no land rover in sight so I jumped into a little green (had to be green, it's the army, if it moves paint it green, if it doesn't move paint it White) Mini and sped off to do my duty. Please note that large feet and small peddles rant conducive to safe motoring, as I got to the legion car park my size ten right foot missed the brake pedal and I ended up in some fellows front garden with the cap over the headlight (see blip) winking loosely from it's mount, they do say pride comes before a fall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.