Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

ST PETERS

"St Peter's is an ancient and living church serving the village of Addingham. Christians have worshipped on this site for over 1100 years. The building, set amid an open field, has a nave roof, arcade and chancel dating from the 15th century with a gallery of 1756. It is a place of prayer, peace and beauty where you will find a warm welcome."

Taken from the Church website & so very true, I've often admired the daffodils that adorn the grounds of this lovely Church but today I finally got round to stopping and taking a look around, what a wonderful building steeped in 1200 years of history and as promised a walk welcome. As we were about to enter we came across a sweet old lady preparing flowers for her families graves who explained that she had lived in the village for the past 99 years, born, christen & married all in St Peters, her parents & Brothers rest in the tranquility of the grounds and she attends to them all each Saturday, she had also spent the morning doing the flowers in the Church & said that every Sunday the pews were full which in this age is something of an unusual site.

P.S. Two days running and the sight of grave stones on my Blips, I'm not turning into some zealot I promise its just theres something about churches.... I remember this from years ago.

John Betjeman - The Cockney Amorist

Oh when my love, my darling,
You've left me here alone,
I'll walk the streets of London
Which once seemed all our own.
The vast suburban churches
Together we have found:
The ones which smelt of gaslight
The ones in incense drown'd;
I'll use them now for praying in
And not for looking round.
No more the Hackney Empire
Shall find us in its stalls
When on the limelit crooner
The thankful curtain falls,
And soft electric lamplight
Reveals the gilded walls.

I will not go to Finsbury Park
The putting course to see
Nor cross the crowded High Road
To Williamsons' to tea,
For these and all the other things
Were part of you and me.
I love you, oh my darling,
And what I can't make out
Is why since you have left me
I'm somehow still about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.