Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Goals

In this workshop, you will have a chance to work closely with renowned photographer. You will learn to overcome your fears of portraiture and approach your subjects with greater confidence and creativity. The photographer will show you how he works with real people to create intimate portraits that tell a story. This workshop is a chance to work closely with the photographer while developing your own eye for portraiture and the environment.

Today I took a little bit of time to research local photography workshops / classes. I have had an epiphany of sorts this week. What if I really could turn this incredibly rewarding hobby into a profession? I always put a protective wall up by saying, "This city is full of amazing photographers". But what if I could make a plan, set some goals, and work right along side them?! Sometimes I think that it is just a pipe dream. But then I realize that everyone in the industry had to start from somewhere. Photography moves me. It inspires me to no end and the feeling of taking an incredible photograph is something that I can't even really describe in words.

So I am beginning the long journey now. I am setting some goals for myself. Goal #1 is to start saving a little bit of money each month for a camera upgrade. As wonderful as my camera is, this is essential. And #2, I need to begin to fully understand and comprehend the entire technical side of photography. File management is a big one. It is time for me to start taking some classes. Improve my photoshop skills. Study lighting. Further explore composition. It is time for me to be proactive. Because if I want to make something out of this, something more than a hobby, then I have a long road ahead of me at this point. And the idea of this excites me beyond belief. (And I have to credit my extremely supportive husband for the pep talk this week that really lit a fire under me).

Today's blip is somewhere along the lines of the workshop summary that I mentioned at the beginning of the journal. Combining portraiture with environment. Taking a photo that can tell a story. Using the full frame to capture the subject along with its surroundings. I began experimenting with this technique a few weeks ago when I photographed a pregnant friend of mine downtown. The final product had a modern industrial feel to it. And the experience opened up a whole new world for me. Most of my portraits are shot close-up. But shooting from a distance is a completely different story. And it can be a bit intimidating. There are more factors to consider. It becomes more of a challenge to create a balanced composition. So today, I caught an emotional moment from a bit of a distance. A mother offering guidance to her son. I felt that the lighting was right, the subjects were natural and I am pleased with the overall composition. But I have so much to learn. And it is time for me to take the next step in my learning. It's go time. Or as I have been saying the last couple of days, "Game On!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.