While on my runs

By waipushrink

Lion Rock

Back home again after a happy and sad time with our dear friends at their place in Piha. Great to have time with them; sad to see the effects of cancer and its treatment. Last evening we witnessed a fantastic sunset into the Tasman Sea, and at least one of my pictures would have challenged my choice of the "self portrait" I posted before we left home yesterday.

After the sun had set we enjoyed great conversation and a superb bottle of Herons Flight Sangiovese which I have been keeping for the right occasion for some years now. This was so much the right occasion.

This morning I was up for a leisurely run, interrupted almost immediately by 17 quail on the drive way. They visit twice a day to see what our friend has put out for them; they have learned that she provides great food. I have disappointed bird loving S with my decision that the shots I took are too soft, with poor focus.

Went along Marine Parade from Piha to North Piha (not that far!) and saw Lion Rock, and took this picture, which I have modified slightly. Cropped it a wee bit, and lightened the shadows, to get this image. The rock is said to resemble a seated male lion when seen from the shore looking out to sea. I think I can see something in this angle. Comments welcome.

Back home, I was again tempted by the sunset. It will come again. Piha will not be somewhere I will run again in the foreseeable future. Also, posting pictures taken while on my runs was my aim when I joined blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.