While on my runs

By waipushrink

The Street

for night life.

It is over a month since I last posted a shot of a decorated signal box; this is the 5th traffic control box, and 7th all up in painted boxes. This one actually surprised me even though I have gone along this part of Karangahape Road a couple of times a month for years; even when down to walking, I would pass this corner reasonably regularly. Also, this intersection is not controlled by lights. Well...

The street beyond the rubbish bin has an exit signal which is activated by tourist buses which are the only vehicles entitled to turn right into K Road at this corner. Traffic on K Road is warned by a signal that a bus is about to turn across them. This wonderfully decorated box houses the control mechanism.

My excuse for not consciously noticing it before? In the past, especially when running, I was much more inwardly focussed than I am now. Blipfoto has made me pay a lot more attention to my environment. I'll also offer a pathetic excuse that I typically run along the street edge of the pavement which is quite wide here. Still means I was shamefully unobservant.

Westwards along K Road are many bars, night clubs and one of the biggest groups of street walkers the city has. One of them has taken to wishing me good morning when I pass those very occasional mornings that my route and timing coincide with hers. (And I think she is a genetic she).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.