creative lenna

By creativelenna

my studio

About a year ago, Steven and I visited the Ringling Museum, nearby in Sarasota, Florida. In the contemporary exhibit there were some hands-on activities which I think were really designed for children, but of course Steven and I had to try them out!! Steven experimented with a sculpture activity and I tried one where you used rectangle shaped blocks to create a polyptych: from the Greek polu "many" + ptyche "fold". This generally refers to a painting (usually a panel painting) which is divided into multiple sections, or panels.... but in the museum you arranged the blocks the way you liked, laid paper on top, did a rubbing with a black crayon . . . and voila'!

I liked it so much I saved it and pinned it up to a wall in my studio. The photograph next to it, the guy in the cowboy hat is my dad. The book below it, Inner Excavations, was given to me by my friend Frieda in Scotland who introduced me to blipfoto. For a look at some of what we saw at Ringling Museum, go here. Thanks for visiting my blip journal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.