Penguin Droppings

By gen2

I'm the King of the Castle

The moment of touch-down.
Once again I have opted to blip the eastern ospreys, (Pandion cristatus).
I spent over 2 hours today watching these magnificent birds but feel rather frustrated being restricted to views up at them from the ground. When one brought in a fish this morning, it was mostly obscured by branches.

As I already commented, watching these birds here reminded me of the ones at home so I Googled them today and was delighted to learn that 'Lady' has beaten the odds and returned for her 21st year at the Loch of the Lowes. Her mate, 7Y, has also returned and they have mated.
From their behaviour, I think this pair here in Caloundra are also about to mate.

The one thing that really annoys me with this SX30 camera that I brought on holiday, is the slow response time on auto-focus and the fiddly slow way of using manual focus. That has made flight shots almost impossible to achieve.

Thanks to everyone for the favourable comments you have been leaving. Sorry I haven't had time to look at everyones journals in return, but I will get round to it eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.