On one memorable day

By hayleya

Great Britain

I once met a guy who told me tales of his travels in europe. I told him i was a british tourist, much to his derision. He thought i liked to sit on a spanish beach with a hanky on my head.

Nothing is further from the truth. I love the UK!! I love finding nice country pubs, deserted windy beaches, loch side campsites and abandoned castles, always while eating local food and if possible drinking local ales.

Don't get me wrong i adore Italy, the USA, the caribbean but alongside all that there is nothing wrong and alot right with being a tourist on your own island.

If you don't have a rough guide i think its a sound investment for the pocket history, 'whats that then' arguments and tips from the roads less travelled.

Oh and as for the weather argument as billy Connelly said
'In Scotland theres no such thing as bad weather - only the wrong clothes'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.