ziggyzaggy

By ziggyzaggy

Excitement

This is my entry for the 2011 challenge. For me excitement is the furious clink of halliards against metal masts. This is the sound that gives me a little buzz of adrenaline as I approach the boat yard. It means there's a fresh wind and we're going to have a good day on the water.

The pic is of Dad's boat (Dad in the background), named Coquette, but the sign writer made it look more like Corguette. We love her all the same!

When we drew out the spinnaker to check the rigging today we found it was full of ragged little (and big) holes. A mouse had been nibbling chunks out of it to make it's nest. A few seconds later said mouse appeared scampering across the boat. He/she was deposited in a hole in the grass nearby. Then, just as we were about to launch (minus the ruined spinnaker), 3 little baby mice appeared making their way gingerly across the hull. I know they'd destroyed the spinnaker but they were very very sweet. They went to the same hole as Mummy/Daddy - I hope they found him/her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.