challenge

By jkj10

Layla and her Drum

We visited the Galata area of Istanbul today. This band of three drew and very large crowd and I literally had to crawl through the crowd on my knees to get to the front. Layla had the most powerful voice and she made a deep resonant sound that filled the air with her drum. I am not sure what the music is called, they said 'traditional Arabic.' It was the kind of sound that gets right to the soul. The guitarist motioned for me to come over and asked if I might take some photos they could use for their website. Which I gladly agreed to do.

There were so many amazing faces everywhere. So many people with amazing green eyes and the hair colour of choice for the young women is cherry-bomb red. I just could not get enough!

Will try to put together a flickr page very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.