challenge

By jkj10

The Carpet Trader

The rain has not stopped all day. Heavy downpour since we left the hotel. We headed over to the Grand Bazaar to take cover. Had not expected the people to be so friendly. I certainly hadn't expected the vendors to ask me to take their photos. At one point I found myself in a small stall with five family members queuing up to have their photos taken. Jonas the carpet dealer stopped me and asked me if I was from New York. He wanted to talk about his time in New York in the early '80's hanging out in Studio 54 with Andy Warhol. He insisted we all join him for 'rose-hip tea and conversation,' promising not to try to sell us anything. Which we did. Everyone in the shop asked to have their photo taken. The lighting was so bright and a bit orange but I still love this one. He was such a gentle young man and waited endlessly while I tried in vain to get the white balance right.

I did manage to buy a big, padded yet stylish new bag to lug my camera around in. We didn't have nearly enough time there and may have to make another trip back before we go. I can not leave Istanbul without a few turkish towels!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.