Donnatello

I think I saved this guy's life!

I was driving along the road when I spotted out the window this giant turtle coming out the lake and making its way up to the road on the opposite side.
I stopped farther along the road and walked by, camera in hand, to get a closer look.

When I got there it was about to s-l-o-w-l-y cross the road. Not a good idea!

Before long we were joined by a vulture. Now these guys are nobody's fools and clearly know potential road kill when they see it. Then a lady came along with a camera and her first words were "there sure is a lot of eating in that!."

I proceeded to get up close and take a couple of pictures. It then stuck its neck out and said (I imagine), 'stuff this, I've had enough', whereupon it turned round and made its way back where it had come from.

The vulture flew off very disappointed.

A few cars had passed quickly on the other side of the road and would almost certainly have run him over if he had continued.

As we had become friends and I had rescued him I thought it only right that I gave him a (ninja) name - Donnatello.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.