dark obsidian

By darkobsidian

Farewell to a friend

I've never much liked Bounty Bars.

All through childhood my step grandfather's friend George used to buy my sister, Susan, and I two bars of chocolate every weekend - one of them usually a Bounty. Actually he was still buying the same chocolate every weekend when I was at university - I guess in George's eyes we never really grew up. It was only latterly that he started buying us a wee dram if met us out socially! It never really mattered how many times he asked us what chocolate we liked and we said that we didn't like Bounty Bars all that much somehow he could never quite remember and they turned up week after week and eventually it became a bit of a family joke.

But as much as I hated Bounty Bars I loved George.

George was a true gentle man. Caring and kind and compassionate and a good and faithful friend.

He passed away on Tuesday and the world will be a sadder place for his going.

I will miss him but I think the chocolate loving child will miss him even more!

Tonight George you'll be delighted to know I'm toasting you with a Bounty and a wee dram and wherever you are I'm sure you're joining me. Godspeed my friend till we meet again!

And in the immortal words of Douglas Adams so long and thanks for all the Bounties!



'A farewell is necessary before you can meet again. And meeting again after moments or a lifetime is certain for those who are friends'


Richard Bach

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.