Me and Max

By grete

Acrobat of the Sky

Anyone who has ever heard me complain about those giant, dying trees in our neighbour´s garden, will know that this is a day of HUGE celebration, relief and joy! I just couldn´t believe my ears this morning, the sound of that saw was like music....

For years the trees have taken a slow, silent farewell to this world, threatening to make their exit anything but. In fact, I was expecting something of a spectacular last show, a demonstration of Newton´s discovery on a slightly more dramatic scale than the apple...

For those with fear of heights (me included), I have gathered a small flickr slideshow (be sure to press that button!), for inspirational purposes. Brave Mathew is a real acrobat of the sky. He climbed that tree, sawing, breaking off and dropping each branch with the grace of a ballet dancer. I just had to talk with him and express my admiration when he finally came down. He admitted to being just a tiny bit nervous, but no more than is necessary to have that respect.

And not only did he remove those trees and grant me a summer of sun (my lawn and flowers will rejoice too) (as well as my friends and family, who will have no more of my repeated complaints), he also gave me a star performance of guts and elegance. And trust. To himself, to his skills, to his equipment. And to the tree itself. What an amazing combination.

I hereby appoint him my very personal hero of the day.

ps. see large. Another WOW to brave Mathew...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.