jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Enclosure

Ben meticulously arranges his drums and various bits and pieces around himself to create a drumming enclosure of sorts. Every time he comes and goes the "gates" have to open to let him out and back in again. Today's enclosure was created with books, a shopping bag, a couple of sticklebricks, a truck, and the gates were parts from his wooden building-blocks train.

It would be very good if the enclosure also provided some kind of sound reduction.



I had a bit of a realisation of why I blip last night. It's for times just like these. When I feel awful, when life is hard work and I feel utterly pathetic and incapable of coping. It's the challenge I've set myself to get the camera out every day - not just my iPhone, at the moment that is considered cheating because it's too easy. And not to just leave it until the last minute to try and find an emergency blip so I don't miss a day but to actually make an effort. It's something that takes my mind off how sick I feel, it means that I still have little visual memories of the good bits of the day, it means an awful lot I've realised.

Thankyou, Blipfoto, for providing that space where communities like this can grow and encourage each other, for something so simple to use and with such simple principles that even I've managed to keep a journal for getting on for a year. I don't think I've ever managed that long, consistently, before.



There. Thoughtful bit out of the way.


Been another hard day but I think that each day is actually getting a bit better than the day before. I couldn't manage vertical for very long this morning, but this afternoon I managed to get to the kitchen and make a sandwich and get back to my sofa without feeling like I needed to run to the bathroom. I managed to get up from our nap and not feel dreadful. I've eaten more of that yummy pasta that Steve made yesterday - actually sitting up rather than lying down. I've managed to drink enough to not feel dehydrated.

Steve took Ben out to Steyning this morning to buy meat for tomorrow's planned barbecue (hope the weather is good!) and they spent a while in the playpark there, giving me a chance to catch up on sleep - last night was not the greatest of nights with Ben, he woke up far too often and I hope it's not the beginnings of tonsillitis coming back again. Must keep an eye on him. He commented that it's a full-time job looking after me and a toddler! That made me chuckle. Ben is a full-time job in himself. Steve's had to take on all the housework as well at the moment, all the cooking, all the Ben-entertaining, and also make sure I'm alright at the same time, as well as doing his regular job. He's doing a great job. I'm so grateful for him.


Tomorrow's challenge is to get dressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.