jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Barbecue weather

Y'know, it may not be a great picture, it's not even the best out of the 5 I took today (only 5!! what is up with me!!) but it makes me smile. People who've never been to our house before, sharing with us the first (hopefully of many) barbecue of the Summer. Yes, it may be spring again next week (although I hope not) but today it was Summer and it felt good.

It has been a Good Day.

I managed to get dressed! Yeah ok so I was sick this morning but once that was out of the way it was as if the day was officially allowed to begin. I got dressed. I had breakfast. I did some tidying. I put a lod of washing in. I started tidying the pile of clothes that has accumulated on the spare bed over the past two weeks. I did a bit of gentle gardening in the front, and then because I was enjoying the sunshine (and vertical functioningness) so much I went and did some clearing in the back garden too!

Guests arrived in a trickle after Steve and Ben got home from church, and it was lovely to see Ben playing and Steve sorting the barbecue while I made a big batch of pasta to keep us going while the coals heated up. Not everybody got to enjoy actual barbecued food because it took SUCH a long time to get going but the pasta went down well!

Funniest moments from today - opening the door to some friends and Daniel their newly-4-year-old, who announced as soon as he saw me, "I'm FOUR!" He and Ben got on like a house on fire. Chasing each other round and round in circles on trikes, and up and down the climbing frame and slide. Then Ben asked for his drumkit outside so we took it out, and he drummed and shouted "Daniel, dance! Dance! Daniel, dance, Daniel!" So Daniel danced and Ben drummed :D

I'm definitely fading now but it has been an amazingly good day, fantastic weather, great company, and now my Dad's here as cavalry for the week until Steve finishes on Friday. Ben is super excited that Grandad is here. Grandad = drums. Which, of course, was the first thing Ben said when he arrived :)

Tired monkey is screaming for me now, so I suppose I'd better stop waffling and go and help...


Thankyou God for a wonderful day. May there be many many more like this one :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.