As seen by me...

By GrantR

Lighthouse Low Tide

I think I might stick to black and white photography for this long exposure stuff. After an attempt to shoot in colour earlier in the day at Blackness Castle with the ND3.0 fitted I was all for chucking it in the sea. It's a real bitch to work out your exposure times with this thing. The method I've tried, ie meter the shot with no filters fitted then fit the ND3.0 and polariser, which should combined be 11 stops, add in another stop if I use a grad and using an iPhone app I should be able to dial in the non filtered exposure and see what the equivalent minus 12 stops would be. Great in theory but every time I try it I get a seriously underexposed image so now I try to just reply on instinct for it, which seems to work better.

So anyway, Newhaven, again. Low tide though so with some careful picking a path you can get right down to the big rocks that are only exposed at low tide. Very slippy getting down though but if there's a good shot to be had, it's worth the risk.

This was a 196s exposure at f13, ISO 200. Using a Sigma 10-20mm at 19mm. Lens fitted with a Heliopan ND3.0 10 stop filter, Kood p series polariser and a Hitech 0.6 and 0.9 ND grad.

As there's a lot of water in this shot, this will be my entry into the Weekend Blip Challenge with the theme of water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.