The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Home

Can I smuggle in a gap-filling backblip without it being noticed?

The first day back after our week on La Palma in the Canaries. Spring has moved on quickly in our absence, and we returned to the Amelanchier in full bloom. The blossom is a short-lived and glorious flourish, and I had wondered if we might have missed the brief spectacle. But here it is at its peak. Though not shown here, the flowers are humming with honeybees (and I have spent time later in the week up a step ladder trying to photograph a honeybee buzzing in to a flower).

Exiled said a week ago she didn't know I did flowers. It's odd, I'm a botanist, and yet the number of botanical blips I've done since I started could be counted on the fingers of one hand.

I picked up Bob from the cattery. As usual, he looked as if he'd had a week at a health farm - softer, sleeker, slimmer and very contented. As I opened the gate from Black Moss, two displaying curlews flew over together.

The afternoon I spent working at home, the first day working on my new job, and trying to prepare a review of the work area and identify how we are going to cope with a depleted workforce. It's a sign of a good holiday that I didn't think about work at all when we were away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.