horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Ugly Chick

Falls into the 'so-ugly-it's-cute' in my mind, your view may differ. I was so intent on trying to follow the movements of the Little Grebes (you can see the face of the poor wee fish he's caught in that pic - he was hanging around the nest site like an expectant father) that it took another of the Sunday Figgy Park regulars pointing out the chicks to me, just 5 yards from where I was sitting. Apparently they hatched yesterday.

The baby animals are well and truly on show in the Figgy just now, including the unusual black bunny kits.

As expected yesterday no hares were spotted today as we headed out to the Borders, but at least that meant no disasters befell me (see yesterday's blip for details...). We did, however, have a lovely walk along the Teviot River in the sunshine, spotting Common Sandpiper, loads of Sand Martins, Treecreepers, an unidentified bug (that was acting like a hairy hoverfly), and a low-flying Heron.

Skye, meanwhile, is recovering, and had no reticence about a wee free-range when we got home. Hardy things chickens.

Oh, and I tried making a soufflé for the first time tonight. And. It bloody well worked. I. Am. Baking. God. Or something. Things generally do seem to work anyway.

All in all, not a bad day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.