Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

The Groundhog

With everything that's blooming today I thought I'd give Mr. Groundhog the spotlight. There is one (or maybe more than one) that lives in the fence row here.

The groundhog is also known as the woodchuck. I even heard them called whistle pigs by old timers.. (they do whistle when threatened). Officially they are one of 14 species of marmots (same as the squirrel) They will climb trees on occasion (I've seen them do that) and swim. I've never witnessed that. They do hibernate in winter. This is probably their biggest fault and I quote from National Geographic's page on the groundhog "Groundhogs are the bane of many a gardener. They can decimate a plot while voraciously feeding during the summer and fall seasons"

Last year I didn't notice any extra nibbles taken in the garden so maybe they will behave and eat somewhere else this year also.

PS. Here's the average size 17.75 to 24 in (45 to 61 cm); tail, 7 to 9.75 in (18 to 25 cm) and are around 13 pounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.