And blue

When I pulled the curtains apart, the roads were dry and the sky grey. When I was ready to leave, the roads were wet but the skies rapidly turning blue. There were all the indications of a good day brewing. I had enjoyed walking through the streets and planned to do it again. I had more of a plan. Found an art gallery featuring paintings of the Seattle landscape and stepped in. Soon the artist himself, José (top left), popped out from a room and what followed was a most interesting conversation. There can be much in common between photography and painting and the differences can be just as interesting.

The Seattle Central Library was awe-inspiring. It was vast. There were a couple of music rooms too where people were at a keyboard and an young lady was practicing her scales. I could have spent a lot of time in there, but the day outside was more inviting than any on this trip has been yet. The Pike Place market, with the first Starbucks shop is most dynamic and I'm sure I'll be back there again. Walked through neighbourhoods I hadn't before and climbed up to Kerry Park for the much photographed Seattle views of the skyline against the Olympic mountains. Did more walking and now I have a fair idea of the downtown area. The person playing the portable piano on the bottom right is Johnny Hahn. He is supposed to be rather famous in the area.

Larger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.