Downtown Seattle

I woke up early but it wasn't planned. It was cloudy again. The road was slick and the window-sill lined with droplets. I took a photo of it against the grey sky and the blinking lights of cars waiting on a signal. A photo like that would remind me of the place on a particular April, or perhaps on all Aprils.

By the time breakfast was over, the first rays of the sun streaked across the carpet and I decided to visit downtown. I didn't get off near the Space Needle as planned but on another street that looked interesting. It was chilly and a bit windy but the rare sun was soothing. As I headed off to Seattle's Best for a cup, I was asked by an aunt who is a coffee fan herself, whether I would prefer it over Starbucks. Surprisingly, I just might. The coffee was smooth. Random walking and shooting took me to the Space Needle and I did the touristy thing, which was to go up to the viewing deck. Not only were the views beautiful, it gave me a clearer idea of the city. Maps alone don't do it for me. I followed the row of tulips and headed off to the sea Puget Sound. To me, the place was once an idea.

Walked by the water, the shipyards and watched gulls swimming in the air. (I'm hoping the cloud cover over the horizon clears on another visit, so I can see Mt. Rainier.) The Pike Place Farmer's Market was more crowded than I would have imagined. There were a few street musicians, and good ones transform the atmosphere. They had small groups surrounding them. Little children danced along. I am drawn to street musicians. At the Experience Music Project amid massive structures made of custom-made music instruments, head-banging and Nirvana, when I found a guitar to play, I got slightly self-conscious when a few people gathered behind me. (I haven't played in public for quite a while and I was hoping it was for the guy playing drums at the other counter, which in all likelihood it was.) So when someone is singing or playing their hearts out in public with an open instrument case lying in front of them, they get that added bit of respect.

There are interesting moments to be captured in Seattle if the weather is kind. Reminds me of "quirky", which is how a photographer whom I greatly admire decided to describe the Manhattan set on my blipfolio. That is the perfect description and for me that was the very idea. I like deviations quite as much as structure.

Today I could have gone one up on yesterday to post 20 or more images, but I think I will find use for the rest. I won't have this view though, common as it is. Also gives me the incentive to return to shoot again, to try and capture a bit more of what I loved today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.