RunningBackwards

By Runningbackwards

View? Check. Ice Cream? Check.

A quick trip out around the Downs with the boys and their scooters.

Son #1 is a big Six whilst Son #2 is a little almost three. Son #2 has had a hair cut and today for the first time in a while, when I saw him in shorts and a T-shirt, it crossed my mind how grown up he was looking. A proper little boy.

An ice cream made for a treat at the end and the boys spent some time watching the climbers in Avon Gorge below us.

An interesting place, the Downs.

A massive travelling funfair, Funderworld, is there for two weeks over Easter and it's something I guess you either love or hate.

The boys gazed longingly at it but both are too small (according to me!).

In other exciting news we saw a teenage boy nearly end his life as he cycled straight out of a junction on the wrong side of the road into oncoming traffic. Thanks to the quick reactions of the driver he avoided being bonneted. He was totally to blame but it was the driver I felt sorry for in this case.

I am a keen cyclist and very pro-cycling but sometimes you have to think that there are those who don't really help the image of cycling. I wonder if the boy will reflect on it as much as the man who nearly hit him.

Some sort of Dad instinct came over me. You want to rush up to the cyclist and tell him to just be a bit more careful and that you are worried for his safety.

Having said that, his 7 friends had pulled the same stunt just before him and got away with it. Following the herd = not always a good thing!

Anyhow, the photo? Avon Gorge with Clifton Suspension Bridge in the background. Two Brunel linked photos in two days? A theme emerging! Lots of people watching out for peregrine falcon in the gorge.

Which reminds me. In Pembrokeshire last week I saw an Otter swimming in the sea. It had a distinct tail and definitely wasn't a seal (or a mermaid). Someone please tell me that this is not unusual!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.