Carter Smith

By cartersmith

NEPAL TRIP 2011: Day 1: Team Member Chris

Day One: Toronto, Ontario
The long awaited photographs from my trip to Nepal are finally coming your way (your probably not that excited but I sure am!)

As this is the first photo in my series I will take the time to explain the concept of the whole trip:

I am fortunate enough to go to a school with a comprehensive global outreach program with trips all over the world. All the trips involve a strong service program to a community or group of people in need of aid or assistance. In early September of this year I selected the outreach trip to Nepal and started working on the comprehensive application. Luckily my credentials were deemed to be appropriate and I was selected to go on the 17 day trip with five other students I didn't necessarily know before.

For the service aspect of this trip the team (we from here on in) were partnered up with an organization called Tempus International Website. The main concept of there work is youth empowerment through literacy and education. What we were to do was help teach kids basic English as well as help Tempus with their Mighty Pen project which is a writing competition where children submit stories and the best ones are published in a book, then these books are re-distributed in Nepal.

As part of the trip we would also be going on a trek in the remote Nepal countryside where we would work with schools along the way.

That is just a taste but i will conclude on the trip at the end of the series.

A bit about this photo: This is one of the team members, Chris. This is in the Toronto departures lounge and I was already bored (with two 8.5 hour flights coming up) so I whipped out the camera. Chris is a very talented artist but not with a camera, with a pen (and occasionally ink!) Most of my photos of him are with sketch book in hand.

This is the link to the Team Flickr page where you will find not just my photographs but most of the teams' (mine are under Carter's Nepal Photos)


~Carter Smith

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.