creative lenna

By creativelenna

A little lizard

On my front step to greet me - a little lizard! This one is only about 6 inches (15 cm) in length including the tail.

There are lots of little lizards like this where I live in Florida. I think they are the most interesting little creatures. Sometimes they scurry away, but other times they let me get quite close to them to take their picture. A few weeks ago I blipped a similar looking lizard fanning his dewlap (throat) and later the same week, I blipped an entirely different looking one, probably female, with a distinctive pattern on her back.

A couple of weeks ago one of the many photos I took but didn't blip was another different patterned lizard hanging out in my mom's garden -I just added it to my blipfolio, click on the link to see it. Most of these lizards were very patient with me while I tried to take their photo. In fact, sometimes they seem interested in me! Watching me, tilting their head, not scurrying away . . . I do like these little 'dinosaurs' and find them a fascinating part of Florida life. I believe what I am mostly seeing is a Brown Anole lizard. Now, even though my husband thinks harmless snakes are great and he loves seeing them, I would much rather see a little lizard or even a frog any day, than a snake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.