While on my runs

By waipushrink

New Zealand Flax #2

Six days ago when I did the course to and then through Gribblehirst Park, I took a photo of this traffic control box, and then chose a different shot to blip. I was really taken with how little like a box it looked if I cropped right down to just the box, except for the ownership statement stuck to it. So I thought I would try again, and produce the sixth in my series of traffic control boxes; 8th painted electronics box.

I deliberately reversed my direction of run so as to have more light, in the foolish belief that would enhance the mirage. Instead the corners of the box are much more obvious, so I ended up not cropping or altering at all. Looking directly into the centre of the painted image the sense of it being actually a flax plant can still be gained.

I decided to use the name of my post of 27 December 2011, as this is the classic appearance of this plant which is not like European flax. Rather it is an herbaceous perennial monocot, and is closely related to day lilies. It has the most magnificent flowers. It was (and still is) used as a source of natural fibre for such items as baskets and cloaks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.