While on my runs

By waipushrink

Another Ariki Sunset

Not working today, so I chose to start the day more slowly than usual, and then spent the day finishing John le Carre's Our Kind of Traitor. After finishing it, I headed out for my daily run, and got some shots at least one of which I was sure could be my blip for today.

Until sunset. It was yet another brilliant one, with changing colours, shapes and cloud formations. I watched the sun go from above all the clouds until it was below the horizon, and in so doing took a number of shots, mostly with the telephoto lens.

I consulted the Oracle (also known as S) as to which photo to choose. We agreed that one of the sunset shots should be the choice, and she then opted out, telling me I should just take one shot and avoid the need to choose. With an Ariki sunset, there are wonderful pictures throughout the sunset. At the same time one may miss the best by waiting. Hence the 20+ shots.

So why choose this one?

I chose it because almost the whole orb of the sun is visible between the upper and lower cloud banks. I also like the way that there are streaks of cloud across the face of the sun. There are many different cloud formations (with different intrinsic and sun affected colours), at a number of different altitudes and distances, meaning that many are not in clear focus, and I like that. The upper reaches of the Waitemata Harbour can be seen as a thin streak. The Waitakere range shows itself to advantage also.

The image (unaltered apart from very minor straightening) is perhaps a little darker and more sombre than I saw it. This is the 9th sunset shot from our deck which I have posted. I fear it will not be the last! Every one is different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.