Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Twentynine Palms

This is one of Jaume Plensa's sculptures which hangs in the underground gallery at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. According to the blurb on the YSP website:

Twenty-nine Palms is a curtain of text within the exhibition; it is the physical embodiment of his notion that an invisible cloud of poetry surrounds us. The excerpts represented by suspended, cut steel letters are selected from some of the most important poems and texts to have influenced the artist. Twenty-nine Palms is positioned running down the concourse in the Underground Gallery, which references the idea that words hang in the air after having been spoken.

We were at the Sculpture Park for lunch with my mum and dad, along with several thousand others who had come along to enjoy the grounds and the sun, if not the sculptures. Fortunately most people were having picnics in the grounds and the restaurant was relatively empty. I recommend it as a place to visit if you are ever travelling through Yorkshire on the M1 motorway. A great place to stop off.

After the others had left I had a walk around the lake on my own, which was very pleasant, and took lots of pics en-route. So I had lots to choose from today. I might put a few onto Flickr later if I get around to it.

I was just having a few peaceful minutes in the quiet of the house, when I was invaded by a rather smart looking burmese/ siamese cat (I'm not very good at recognising anything other than your standard tabby). Anyway, I thought I heard something padding upstairs and thought. ahhhh cat! And it was. At the top of the stairs, and then in the bedroom. After shooing it out it was back again in two minutes flat, and trying to creep behind me. It must know that at this moment in time we are sans cat. However, I'm not convinced I'm looking to fill the gap right now.

My next job is to go and water some of the things I've planted on the allotment. Probably best left until it cools down a little more.

Back later to comment (if I've not fallen asleep - 3.30 wake-up this morning!) Thank you for your expressions of sympathy. The cold is fine in the daytime - just nights it seems to be a problem.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.