Sal, Soul Sister.

By sally

Signed, Sealed, Delivered.

Well that mystery slip yesterday was indeed my diploma. Is it diploma or degree? I think the actual thing is still a diploma, and degree is just figurative? Anyway--it was a bit strange, receiving my college degree from some guy in the back package storage area of the post office, through a tiny hidden away window, by myself (except for some pissy whiners complaining about how horrible our country is because some nameless man at the post office couldn't find your tiny little package in a warehouse full of mis-directed packages). Got home and didn't know what to do, then Jack and I had a little toast. An hour or so later Mom and Dad got home and we had a little celebration with the bottle of champagne Dad received for his big birthday last summer.

The document itself wasn't nearly as colorful as imagined, think they should pepper it up with a picture of a prancing deer or something of the sort. My high school diploma has a prancing lamb that fills up the page rather well--you should try that out, university.

ps-University, if I'm going to be paying you ridiculous amounts of money for this degree, you should probably make sure it's protective-wrapped. Receiving a torn envelope with a ding in the brilliant red cover of this thing you've been working hard to get for years isn't exactly an example of a job well done.


It's strange to think that 32 years ago today my Mom got married, at my age. It's also strange to think that if something horrbily unfortunate did not occur, I would not be.


----a big thank you to everyone who has offered advice regarding D-SLRs, I've gotten to see most of them in real life, but am still stuck on which one to choose.--

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.